Robert J. Dexter Memorial Lecture

Congratulations to Hussam Mahmoud, Ph.D., of Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado, recipient of the 2014 Robert J. Dexter Memorial Lecture! Dr. Mahmoud is an assistant professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director of the Structural Laboratory at the university. He presented his lecture on "A Probabilistic Approach for Fitness-for-Purpose Assessment of Welded Details" on August 7 in Denver, Colorado. 

The Robert J. Dexter Memorial Lecture provides an opportunity for an individual early in his/her career in structural engineering to present a lecture on his/her steel bridge activities to the SMDI Steel Bridge Task Force and to participate in its semiannual three-day meeting. The Steel Bridge Task Force is made up of the United States’ leading steel bridge experts. Dr. Mahmoud worked as an undergraduate research assistant for Dr. Robert Dexter and received the Masters of Science degree under his supervision.

The program was instituted in 2005 to honor Robert J. Dexter, associate professor of civil engineering at the University of Minnesota. An internationally recognized expert on steel fracture and fatigue problems, Professor Dexter passed away on November 16, 2004.

Caption: Hussam Mahmoud, Ph.D. (center) proudly accepts a plaque commemorating his selection as the 2014 Robert J. Dexter Memorial Lecture recipient from Alexander D. Wilson (left), Chairman of SMDI's Steel Bridge Task Force and Manager of Customer Technical Services for ArcelorMittal USA; and Dennis R. Mertz, professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the University of Delaware. Photo: Steel Market Development Institute   

Click here to

Past Recipients:

  • Caroline Bennett, Ph.D., P.E. (2013)
  • Hassan Abbas, Ph.D. (2012)
  • Justin Ocel, Ph.D., P.E. (2010)
  • Emmett A. Sumner III, Ph.D. (2009)
  • Jennifer Righman McConnell, Ph.D (2007)
  • Reagan Herman, Ph.D (2006)
  • Dr. Robert Connor, Purdue University (2005)

Richard S. Fountain Award

Congratulations! The 2014 Richard S. Fountain Award goes to Alexander D. Wilson, Manager of Customer Technical Services for ArcelorMittal, USA. Alex was recognized for his many significant contributions to the advancement of steel highway bridges over the years, among them key roles in the development of innovative technologies such as weathering steel and High-Performance Steel for bridges.    

The Richard S. Fountain Award is presented annually to a member of the SMDI Steel Bridge Task Force and AASHTO Technical Committee for Structural Design to recognize leadership in steel bridge research and outstanding efforts to advance AASHTO specifications through the Steel Bridge Task Force. The award was instituted to honor Richard S. Fountain, founder of the Steel Bridge Task Force. Richard Fountain passed away on March 14, 2011.  

Click here to read more! 

Read the article in Civil + Structural Engineer.  

Caption: Alexander D. Wilson (center), accepts the 2014 Richard S. Fountain Award from Dennis Mertz, Ph.D., University of Delaware (left) and Gregory R. Perfetti, Chairman of the AASHTO T-14 Steel Bridge Structures Committee. Photo: Steel Market Development Institute 

Past Recipients: 

  • Ronald D. Medlock, P.E., High Steel Structures, Inc., Lancaster, PA (2013)
  • Yoni Adonyi, Ph.D., P.E., professor, Omer Blodgett Chair of Welding and Materials Joining Engineering and MJE Program Coordinator at LeTourneau University (2012)
  • Ahmad M. Itani, Ph.D., P.E., S.E., F. ASCE (2011)
  • John M. Kulicki, P.E., Modjeski and Masters, Inc. (2009)
  • William J. Wright, Federal Highway Administration (2008)
  • Donald W. White, Professor of Structural Engineering, Mechanics and Materials at the Georgia Institute of Technology (2007)
  • Dean C. Krouse, Steel Bridge Consultant (2006)
  • Dennis R. Mertz, Associate Professor, University of Delaware (2005)
  • Camille Rubeiz, former Director of Transportation and Infrastructure at AISI (2003)
  • Professor Karl Frank, University of Texas at Austin (2002); and Mike Grubb, BSDI Ltd. (2001)

CERF Award

A team consisting of members from AISI, the U.S. Navy’s Carderock Division, and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) were awarded the 1997 Civil Engineering Research Foundation (CERF) Charles Pankow Award for Innovation for the development of high-performance steel for bridges. The award was presented on October 21, 1997 at the CERF annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

The Pankow Award for Innovation was established in 1996 to complement existing industry awards. Named for industry visionary Charles J. Pankow, the award recognizes organizations working collaboratively to bring innovative civil engineering ideas into practice. As a leader in the civil engineering industry for nearly 50 years, Pankow was instrumental in launching CERF, and he served as one of the Foundation's first board members and chairman of CERF's New Century Partnership.

For more information, click here.

SMDI Lifetime Achievement Award

Congratulations to Alexander D. Wilson, ArcelorMittal (retired), who was named as an SMDI Lifetime Achievement Award winner in May 2016!

Alex was instrumental in the development and testing of new technologies for the bridge industry, including weathering steel and High-Performance Steel. He made many significant contributions to the steel bridge industry.

Read more here