Committee on Specifications

The AISI Committee on Specifications for the Design of Cold-Formed Steel Structural Members is a consensus group which maintains and updates the North American Specification for the Design of Cold-Formed Steel Structural Members (AISI S100) and cold-formed steel test standards. AISI S100 is the foundation for many construction products including steel decking, steel roofing and wall panel systems, metal building systems, storage racks and cold-formed steel framing. The Specification is recognized by American National Standards Institute (ANSI) as the American National Standard in the U.S., by CSA Group in Canada, and by Camara Nacional de la Industria del Hierro y del Acero (CANACERO) in Mexico. The test standards have also been approved by ANSI as the American National Standards.

The mission of the Committee on Specifications is:

To improve the performance of cold-formed steel in structures through the development and use of improved analysis methods and design specifications.

The Committee on Specifications consists of six subcommittees. These subcommittees fulfill the mission established by the Committee on Specifications by monitoring research works related to cold-formed steel design, and providing recommendations for developing and improving design provisions in the North American Specification for the Design of Cold-Formed Steel Structural Members.

The Committee on Specifications is structured as follows:

Committee on Specifications
Chairman: Roger L. Brockenbrough
Vice Chairman: Richard B. Haws
Secretary: Helen Chen

Subcommittee 3, Connections
Chairman: Perry S. Green
Subcommittee 22, Stability and Combined Actions
Chairman: James K. Crews
Subcommittee 4, Assemblies
and Systems
Chairman: Tom Sputo
Subcommittee 24, Member Design
Chairman: Allen J. Harrold
Subcommittee 6, Test-Based Design
Chairman: Randy Daudet
Subcommittee 31, General Provisions
Chairman: James M. Fisher
North American Specification Advisory
Chairman: Reinhold M. Schuster